Dr. Devorah Lieberman is the University of La Verne’s 18th and first female president. ​

Dr. Lieberman is dedicated to three values: educating and cultivating future leaders, promoting inclusivity and diversity, and leading by example with integrity.

Throughout her career, she has brought national recognition to the institutions with which she has been associated. This includes receiving the American Council of Education (ACE) Bringing the World into the Classroom award, the Washington Center Higher Education Civic Engagement Award, and the TIAA-CREF Theodore M. Hesburgh Award for Excellence.

Dr. Lieberman is president of the executive committee of the Coalition of Urban and Metropolitan Universities. She was named President of the Year in 2015 by the Association of College Unions International (ACUI) for supporting an inclusive and engaged campus community. She is one of 13 national scholars invited to participate in the Project on the Future of Higher Education; was named the 2000 Oregon Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching; and received the 1999 Distinguished Faculty Award from the Portland State Alumni Association. While chairing the statewide Board of Directors for the Oregon Council for Hispanic Advancement (OCHA), Dr. Lieberman received OCHA’s 1995 Si Se Puede Award and its 1998 Amistad Award, as well as the 2003 Las Mujeres de la Raza Award from the Portland State students and the City of Portland.